Hope for Weeding Experience

“One of the worst mistakes you can make as a gardener is to think you’re in charge.” –Janet Gillespie

This summer has been one with a lot of window daydreaming. I had an asthma flare-up. Simple, basic activities of normal life would leave me exhausted and out of breath. We are not sure as to what aggravated my asthma. It could have been a bacterial infection or even the thunderstorms that came through the previous weekend. In storms with strong wind, pollen can be stirred up and broken into tiny particles. Those particles can get lodged into the tiny bronchioles in the lungs. So for almost a month, my outdoor activities were limited. Add heat and humidity into the mix meant going outside only at a necessity.

God took over the tending of my garden. The plants have grown but so have the weeds. I finally got some energy back for a little maintenance in the garden. Twenty minutes later, energy gone for a while. Sitting on a step stool and pulling weeds by hand from one row. No using the cultivator to quickly rid the pathways of weeds.

Now my garden has a different issue NO RAIN! It has been over a month (same time as I got sick, mid-June) since we have had measurable rainfall. So I have been using my sprinkler every few days to water the garden. In the afternoon the dry dirt cracks reappear. It isn’t the same as a good day (or night) of rain. I have some produce on the plants yeah!- waiting for more from the flower blooms.

I am not in charge of plant growth, God is. I can help provide extra water. I can help provide extra food, by means of fertilizer. However, He is the one who provides the plants with the ability to grow and produce. We just need to sit back sometimes and have faith that He will.

(Side note, I wrote this last week but this week was Vacation Bible School at my church & I was the director of it. No time to post this.)

Leave a Reply

